The Chakras: Ajna (Third Eye Chakra) by Lena Schmidt

Pilgrimage of the Heart Yoga > Health & Beauty > The Chakras: Ajna (Third Eye Chakra) by Lena Schmidt

Chakras, or wheels of energy, correspond to areas in the body. If an area of our lives is out of balance, it can manifest as an imbalance in that chakra and lead to pain, discomfort, or a feeling of uneasiness. And vice versa! There are seven main chakras. Over the next few weeks I’ll be breaking down the basics of each of these seven here in this blog and in the Wednesday, 8:00am, Yoga 1 class at the North Park studio. Remember, everyone feels different emotions and sees different colors; the information here is just a guideline.

6th Chakra: Ajna: Third Eye Chakra

Connection to intuition, inner wisdom, dreams, visions, instinct, seeing your future

Color: Blue

Element: Ether/Space/Light

Seed sound: Om

Location: The space between the eyebrows, eyes, and brain.

Yoga poses: Practice balancing postures like tree pose, eagle pose, and dancer’s pose. Use drishti (gazing point of focus) and practice with your eyes closed.

Affirmation: I SEE. I am awake and trust my intuition. I ask my third eye to open its eyelid so I may connect to a deep sense of inner peace and knowing.

Ways to balance this chakra off the mat: Connect with intuitive hits in your body (in your gut, clammy hands, heart flutters), journal, meditate, practice trusting your intuition to see the big picture, and wear more blue!

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.