The Chakras: Anahata (Heart Chakra) by Lena Schmidt

Pilgrimage of the Heart Yoga > Health & Beauty > The Chakras: Anahata (Heart Chakra) by Lena Schmidt

Chakras, or wheels of energy, correspond to areas in the body. If an area of our lives is out of balance, it can manifest as an imbalance in that chakra and lead to pain, discomfort, or a feeling of uneasiness. And vice versa! There are seven main chakras. Over the next few weeks I’ll be breaking down the basics of each of these seven here in this blog and in the Wednesday, 8:00am, Yoga 1 class at the North Park studio. Remember, everyone feels different emotions and sees different colors, the information here is just a guideline.

4th Chakra: Anahata: Heart Chakra

Connection to love, devotion, affection, purity, kindness, compassion, community, peace

Color: Green

Element: Air

Seed sound: Yam

Location: Heart, chest, lungs, shoulders, arms, hands

Yoga poses: Chest and shoulder openers and stretches, sphinx, cobra, bridge, wheel, camel, bow pose. Alternately, practice forward folds and twists to open the upper back and side of the chest, and to counter the deeper back bends.

Affirmation: I LOVE. I open myself to the good within all beings. I open myself to the good within me.

Ways to balance this chakra off the mat: Connect with air by going outside; take deeper breaths; practice allowing yourself to love and be loved unconditionally; practice self-love and acceptance by honoring your emotions and treating yourself to body work (massage, acupuncture, healing touch); and wear more green!

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.