The Chakras: Muladhara (Root Chakra) by Lena Schmidt

Pilgrimage of the Heart Yoga > Health & Beauty > The Chakras: Muladhara (Root Chakra) by Lena Schmidt

Chakras, or wheels of energy, correspond to areas in the body. There are seven main chakras. If an area of our lives is out of balance, it can manifest as an imbalance in that chakra and lead to pain, discomfort, or a feeling of uneasiness. And vice versa!

Over the next few weeks I’ll be breaking down the basics of each of the seven chakras in this blog, as well as in my Wednesday, 8:00am Yoga 1 class at the Pilgrimage Yoga North Park studio. Remember, everyone feels different emotions and sees different colors connected with each chakra. The information here is simply to serve as a guideline.

1st Chakra: Muladhara: Root Chakra

Connection to home, safety, security, tribe, and family

Color: Red

Element: Earth

Seed sound: Lam

Location: Base of the pelvis, the root of your being

Related issues:

Yoga poses: Stretch and strengthen your legs and feet

Affirmation: I AM. All of my basic needs are provided for and I am at home on this earth. I am safe.

Ways to balance this chakra off your mat:

  • Connect to the earth by getting your feet and hands in the dirt, sand, or grass
  • Garden
  • Go for a hike
  • Hug a tree
  • Eat more fruits and veggies
  • Wear more red!
  • Leave a Comment

    You must be logged in to post a comment.