The Chakras: Sahasrara (Crown Chakra) by Lena Schmidt

Pilgrimage of the Heart Yoga > Health & Beauty > The Chakras: Sahasrara (Crown Chakra) by Lena Schmidt

Chakras, or wheels of energy, correspond to areas in the body. If an area of our lives is out of balance, it can manifest as an imbalance in that chakra and lead to pain, discomfort, or a feeling of uneasiness. And vice versa! There are seven main chakras. I’ll be breaking down the basics of each of these seven here in this blog and in the Wednesday, 8:00am, Yoga 1 class at the North Park studio. Remember, everyone feels different emotions and sees different colors, the information here is just a guideline.

7th Chakra: Sahasrara (Crown Chakra)

Connection to spirituality, change, transformation, enlightenment, peace

Color: Purple/Violet

Element: Silence

Seed sound: Om Mani Padmi Hom

Location: Crown of the head and one inch above the head

Yoga poses: Practice poses that allow you to reach up through the crown of the head like mountain pose, tree pose, and warrior 1. Practice poses that directly stimulate the crown chakra like headstand, handstand, and other inversions to turn your world upside down and open to a new perspective.

Affirmation: I UNDERSTAND. I am more than my physical body and my thoughts. I am open to a life beyond my wildest dreams.

Ways to balance this chakra off the mat: Connect with your sense of spirituality (practice meditation, prayer, get out in nature), let go of attachments, meditate, enjoy silence, and wear more purple!

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.