The Chakras: Svadistana (Sacral Chakra) by Lena Schmidt

Pilgrimage of the Heart Yoga > Health & Beauty > The Chakras: Svadistana (Sacral Chakra) by Lena Schmidt

Chakras, or wheels of energy, correspond to areas in the body. If an area of our lives is out of balance, it can manifest as an imbalance in that chakra and lead to pain, discomfort, or a feeling of uneasiness. And vice versa! There are seven main chakras. Over the next few weeks I’ll be breaking down the basics of each of these seven here in this blog and in the Wednesday, 8:00am, Yoga 1 class at the North Park studio. Remember, everyone feels different emotions and sees different colors, the information here is just a guideline.

2nd Chakra: Svadistana: Sacral Chakra

Connection to creativity, sensuality, intimate relationships (partnerships and friendships)

Color: Orange

Element: Water

Seed sound: Vam

Location: Low back (sacrum), hips, pelvis

Yoga poses: Stretch the hips in Pigeon pose, Runner’s Lunge, Squat pose and Warriors 1 and 2; strengthen low abdominals; move fluidly through postures connecting breath to movement (flow)

Affirmation: I FEEL. My desires are natural, I trust my senses, and I flow with ease through the rhythms of life.
Ways to balance this chakra off the mat: Connect with water by getting your feet in the ocean, a river or lake; take a warm shower or bath; drink more water; practice “going with the flow” ☺ and wear more orange!

Image by: The Chakra Shack

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.