The Chakras: Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra)

Pilgrimage of the Heart Yoga > Health & Beauty > The Chakras: Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra)

Chakras, or wheels of energy, correspond to areas in the body. If an area of our lives is out of balance, it can manifest as an imbalance in that chakra and lead to pain, discomfort, or a feeling of uneasiness. And vice versa! There are seven main chakras. Over the next few weeks I’ll be breaking down the basics of each of these seven here in this blog and in the Wednesday, 8:00am, Yoga 1 class at the North Park studio. Remember, everyone feels different emotions and sees different colors, the information here is just a guideline.

Chakra: Manipura: Solar Plexus Chakra

Connection to thoughts and feelings about yourself, self-esteem, ego, drive, commitment, discipline

Color: Yellow

Element: Fire

Seed sound: Ram

Location: Solar plexus, above naval—below ribs, mid-back, core, abdomen, waist

Yoga poses: Core! Core! Core! Practice tapas (literally “to burn”) or heat building poses like plank, forearm plank, and balancing poses. Alternately, practice twisting poses to detoxify, wring out, and strengthen the core. Practice heating pranayama (breath control) like Kapalabati breath (breath of fire) and Ujjayi breath (oceanic yogic breath) to heat and detox.

Affirmation: I DO. I graciously accept and fearlessly activate my power and strength.

Ways to balance this chakra off the mat: Connect with the element of fire by meditating on a candle flame; make your sleep and resting areas warm and comfortable; do activities that make you feel warm (exercise, yoga tapas, heating pranayama); practice setting goals and following through; and wear more yellow!

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.