The Yamas: Satya by Lena Schmidt

Pilgrimage of the Heart Yoga > Yoga > The Yamas: Satya by Lena Schmidt

The yogic journey, as defined by Patanjali (the ancient sage said to have authored the Yoga Sutras, a foundational text of yoga) is an eight-fold path. The eight limbs act as guidelines for how to live a healthy and meaningful life, tuned into ones own purpose and spiritual nature. The eight limbs are yama, niyama, asana, pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, and samadhi. Over the next few weeks we’ll be diving deeper into each of the 8 Limbs here in this blog and in the Thursday, 9:00am, Yoga 1 class at the North Park studio. Enjoy your journey!

The first limb of the eight-fold path is the Yamas, or attitudes and behaviors towards others. The Yamas are basically the moral “don’ts.” The 5 Yamas are Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Brahmacarya, and Aparigraha.

The second of the Yamas is Satya. Satya is truthfulness or non-lying.

We can practice Satya in yoga by:
*Being realistic about today: where you’re at physically, mentally, emotionally is important when you come to the mat
*Owning where you’re at (use props! take variations! rest when needed!)
*Using the quiet time in practice to reflect on the value of your words
*As a teacher, practicing regularly so your teaching is a truthful representation of your experience and being honest with your students about your own yoga challenges and goals

We can practice Satya in life by:
*Not lying to others
*Not lying to ourselves
*Being an attentive listener and thanking others for their honesty
*Being mindful of how your words affect others
*Following through on what you say
*Learning to say no

Practice tips: Satya is really about walking the walk and honoring the integrity of who you are. Journal or meditate on your general truthfulness. Do you lie to yourself about something on a regular basis? Is it about something big or something small? What is the purpose this untruth serves?

(A sub-Yama of Satya is Mahadharata, which implores us to “speak truth which is pleasant, do not speak unpleasant truths, do not lie, even if the lies are pleasant to the ear.” What of a little white lie you ask to save a hurt feeling? To protect a loved one from pain? To You be the judge.)

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.